Being of good cheer

Uncategorized

I thought maybe I’d start sharing some of the words of wisdom that are carrying us through this trial. One of the things I’ve heard a lot is how strong we are and how positive we are being. I can’t take any credit for that. I believe that the faith that we have in God and the many, many people who are praying for us is what is holding us together through this. There are many times each day when I can feel God’s peace and love, and I know it is coming because of the prayers lifted on our behalf.

So with that in mind, I share a verse for today: A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones. – Proverbs 17:22

This crisis has brought our family much closer and we are so much more thankful now for all the moments we get together. And yes, we have joy each day, even though we also have cancer.

Richard and I drove David to his radiation appointment today. Like any teenager, he complained about the early hour, but was good company anyway. We watched some cool videos on YouTube on the way down to the hospital. Thanks to Beth Sczempka for posting a cool dance video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZYL3j27sSH8) on Facebook that got us started down the YouTube path.

We talked about the homecoming dance because I hadn’t really seen him since the dance. He said, “apparently brain cancer makes you popular.” To which I replied, “Well there you go, you always wanted a weird way to be popular.” He said, “Yeah, but I thought it would be something like spontaneous movie stardom.” I said, “Well next time you get to choose, choose that.” He laughed and said, “Yeah, I’m definitely choosing that!” He really does have an awesome sense of humor, and though I know this is tough for him, he is always positive. I feel blessed just to know him, much less be his mom.

He still has a healthy appetite and talked us into buying him a breakfast sandwich on the way out of the hospital. While in line, we saw one of his nurses, Rae, from the PICU. She was a student and has been transferred to a different department, but she was happy to see David and gave him a big hug. She still owes him some Lumpia, though. (She’s a very cute young lady of Filipino descent.)

David was done in time to go to both his 3rd and 4th block classes. That’s basically half of his school day, so he will get to see more of his classmates. Today it was History and Culinary Arts. He has managed to get caught up with almost all of the work he missed while out of school for the first three weeks. Those Saturday morning school sessions really add up!

Leave a Reply

