Kindness

Uncategorized

David had a fairly uneventful visit to the radiology department this morning. His visit went quickly, and he and I enjoyed a little quality time in the car. (We dropped Richard off at the airport to go to Wichita for a few days.) After school, I got to pick him and Austin up and take them to their dad’s house. Mark started back to work, and Susan had gone to pick up their step-sister, so they had a few minutes home alone. As teenagers, I’m sure they were happy about that.

Facing this challenge with David has made me really stop and look at him a little more each day. I’ve gotta tell you that I am so proud of who he is. Today as we walked through the hospital, I kept turning around to find him stopped somewhere behind me holding open a door for someone. As we exited an elevator, these two older ladies needed some help finding their way. We tried to help, but in the end, didn’t know where they needed to go. We pointed them in the direction for help, but didn’t really give them the answer. I was a little chagrined that we didn’t actually help them, and David said, “but Mom, we TRIED to help them. That’s what really counts.”

I know his intention there was golden, but it got me thinking. Is trying to help really enough? If we make a donation to a charity or volunteer once or twice a year, is that enough? We try to help, but I think real help might be going the distance, pushing beyond the quick fix and into the real meat of the problem. I know we aren’t all doctors or scientists, but God has given each of us a special talent (or ten). Are we using those talents to the best of our abilities to help others? Or are we just going through the motions. David and I are big Star Wars fan, and as Yoda would say, “Do or do not. There is no try.”

We need to find a cure for brain cancer. There is precious little being done to stop this deadly disease. There are some unique characteristics (like the blood/brain barrier) that make this cancer harder to treat than a lot of others. Does that mean we just “try” to fix it? Or are we going to get serious and go after a cure? I’m not trying to belittle what is being done already. There are a lot of people – researchers, doctors, volunteers – who have made it their life’s work to cure brain cancer. But they desperately need our help.

I have some ideas, and have a couple of charities that I would like to start working with. You may even see an event or a special request come through from me. Because I want to help. Not just try. Really help. I hope you will choose to do the same.

Leave a Reply

