Small World

Uncategorized

We found out a few weeks ago that there is another boy battling brain cancer here in Fredericksburg. He attends the same middle school that David attended. Today, they held a dance as a fundraiser for him. I was fortunate enough to be able to attend and see the outpouring of love the school and community has for Tyler.

This type of cancer is a very intangible thing. There is no open wound to heal. No broken bones in a cast. The battle is being waged deep inside the body, and we can only see the manifestation when it has gotten bad. And it is almost the same with the prayer that is going on for the benefit of these kids fighting the battle. It’s a spiritual war that is being waged, and the kids (and parents) don’t necessarily see or know who is fighting. But today was a very strong visual for Tyler of who is fighting on his behalf. I hope his parents were as encouraged as I was, because I know for every person there, there were 10 more who couldn’t make it.

I’ve prayed for people in the past, and I never let them know I was praying. I guess it never occurred to me that they needed to know. And I guess on one level, they didn’t. But now being in this position has taught me that people are so comforted by the fact that they are being prayed for. There are times when you think that surely everyone has moved on with their lives and forgotten, and then someone will send a card or post something on Facebook just to let you know they’re still praying. I know now how much that means, and I will try to be more diligent about it in the future.

As for David, I only had a few minutes with him today. I picked both kids up after school and drove them to their dad’s house. They were both excited for the weekend and had a good end to their school week. David’s hair loss is a little more substantial, but it’s cut so short that you hardly notice.

Leave a Reply

