Friends

Uncategorized

I heard this great song yesterday, and I wanted to share the lyrics:

“You find out who your friends are
Somebody’s gonna drop everything
Run out and crank up their car
Hit the gas, get there fast
Never stop to think ‘what’s in it for me?’ or ‘it’s way too far’
They just show on up with their big old heart
You find out who your friends are”

It’s a country song, kind of a “good ‘ol boy” thing, but it made me tear up. We have so many friends (and family) who would drop everything to help us. It’s really pretty amazing, and I’m just awed and thankful every day.

It’s been a pretty busy week. Austin made the tennis team, and I was able to see her for a few minutes to congratulate her. I’m hoping to go out to celebrate with her sometime soon. David got to drive to school and to youth group this week. He’s not driving every day, but he is getting out on his own a little bit. Independence is a very good thing for a teenager.

Jennifer and I went to the school board meeting this week. The parents, teachers, and students that came were able to convince the school board to build a new Stafford High School – not remodel the current one. It still has to be passed by the County Board of Supervisors, but we’re making progress. The new school won’t be built in time to make a difference for David and Austin, but it will make a difference for a lot of kids in the future.

I also went to the Senior Karaoke Night at the high school. Almost all of the kids I’ve met from the school were there. It was a fun time for them. I love it when the school is able to engage kids in cool activities that will make memories for them for years to come. This was one of those nights, and I’m glad I was able to see it.

 

One thought on “Friends

  1. There have been times that I have felt helpless as I do not know what else to do for you. You have been constantly in my thoughts. Since I am not able to be with you, I made some cards for Operation Write Home and thought of you the whole time. I found some penguin emblishments and paper and thought of you as I remember you liking penguins at one time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

