No holding back

Uncategorized

When I started this blog, I was very concerned about how much information to share. I was very careful not to say too much in the beginning because David didn’t want to know his exact tumor name. He felt that he wasn’t a statistic and so therefore didn’t want his outlook clouded by them.

He has since learned that he has a GBM and has continued to handle his diagnosis with a positive outlook. That gets tougher when you experience a setback, but I still find David to be pretty positive most of the time.

Lately, however, I’ve been more concerned about David. I haven’t mentioned anything on here because I didn’t want to cause alarm, but several people have encouraged me to tell more of the story and so I’m going to try to find a way to do that.

About two weeks ago, David decided that he wanted to take a break from his family. He felt that his stress level was too high, and he told his dad and I that he wanted to stay with a friend for a couple of weeks.

I was concerned about that at first, but he had a detailed plan for how he was going to deal with everything, and so I told him I would support him in whatever he needed to do to be happy.

He moved into his best friend’s house, and their whole family was very supportive of him being there. He seemed much more relaxed and happy for a few days, but then he rode to the hospital with his dad. After that, he abruptly decided to spend the weekend with his dad at the beach.

David’s friends became concerned and alerted me. I tried to contact David, but he never answered his phone. He finally made contact with one of his friends on Sunday. David said that he hadn’t gone to the beach but had instead stayed home alone with his dad while the rest of the family went to the beach. David said that he was tired and he was planning to just stay at his dad’s house. He seemed very tired, and barely able to hold a conversation. His friend was very alarmed because David had really sounded excited about going to the beach, and then didn’t go.

I called him and he told me that he was going to stay at his dad’s because he didn’t want to be a burden to his friends and that he was tired of trying to schedule his rides. This didn’t make any sense to me because David had been quite proud of how he was planning to help out the family he was staying with. He had also already created a ride schedule for the entire time he needed to go for radiation. So his story didn’t add up, but I didn’t give him a hard time about it because he already seemed overwhelmed.

David has seemed very tired every day since then. He has not engaged much with his friends, and as of today, we are back to not being able to reach him.

He has some big decisions to make, and his friends and family want to be there to support him. Unfortunately, he seems to be effectively cut off from a large group of people who care about him.

I will be more forthcoming with the info on what is happening with David in the future. In the meanwhile, please pray for David to think for himself and to stay connected with those who care about him. In times like these, you need your friends and family around you. I’m very worried about how isolated he is.

2 thoughts on “No holding back

  1. Amanda~I’m sorry that you are unable to be in contact with David for this period of time. I am sure that every moment is precious in every way when you are dealing with this kind of cancer. The stress is negative for all of you. I’m praying for all~
    Robyn

    Like

Leave a Reply

