Busy bees

Uncategorized

We’ve all been running this week, so I’m gonna backtrack a day or two.

I’ve been running talent show rehearsals this week in the evening, and it has been very rewarding to see the hard work these teens have put into their acts. I love being backstage, so this has been a really great distraction for me. On Wednesday, I took David to his appointment in Richmond for his Avastin infusion. It is technically a one hour infusion, so I always optimistically think we will be in and out in a couple of hours. VCU had different plans. We waited about an hour and a half before they started the infusion, and then David felt a little dizzy afterwards, so he was kept for a little while for observation. Everything was fine, though, and we returned to Fredericksburg. Mark met us at the school so I could catch the last half of talent show rehearsal. David is staying with his dad this week, but I am very excited to report that he will be spending the week with me next week. :o)

While David and I were at the hospital, Austin was participating in Challenge Day at school. I had been unaware of this program, but she seemed very excited about it so I looked it up. Here’s the link if you are interested:

http://www.challengeday.org/

It is a great program that essentially challenges people to be the change they want to see in the world. Austin really enjoyed the program and I jumped at the chance to be an adult volunteer for the second day of the program. Austin wasn’t there (it’s a single day for participants), but a number of David and Austin’s friends were there. It was really a special day, and I am so thankful for these really thoughtful young people.

I’ve gotta say, though, its been a while since I’ve been this tired. It was an emotionally draining day, and I’m glad we didn’t have rehearsal tonight. Tomorrow is the show, so tonight I’m resting up and trying to get ready.

The kids are going away for their step-sister’s birthday this weekend. They are going to the mountains, and I’m sure they will have a great time. David is still having fatigue, but it’s good for him to get out and do some things. I’m prayerful that his energy level will return soon.

Leave a Reply

