MRI Results

Uncategorized

Well the short and sweet version is that we didn’t see any tumor shrinkage on the MRI today. They only had the head scans to look at – they took pictures of the spine, too, but those won’t be loaded into the system until at least tomorrow.

The MRI on his brain was reviewed by the oncologist at VCU. We are waiting to hear from the neurosurgeon there to make sure he agrees with the reading, but basically, there is only slight change in most of the tumors. In some instances that change could be a result of the Avastin making things appear differently on the scan, but it could also be growth. There is some “wiggle room” on most of the tumors, but there is one in the 4th ventricle that could cause some real problems if it gets any bigger. I think I might have mentioned before that it is the one that could block the flow of cerebral spinal fluid (CSF) because it is in that passageway that leads from the brain to the spine. Needless to say, I am very concerned about that.

I talked to David about it a little bit, because he always takes the news with hardly any reaction. He said, “Mom, what good is freaking out going to do? I just listen and then figure out what I need to do to fight it.” That’s my boy! But it is hard not to get frustrated. For me, anyway.

Now that you know the important stuff, I’ll back up and tell you some of the “fluff”. David is spending the week with me, and he woke up in a great mood. He made cinnamon rolls for himself for breakfast. (I offered, but he was happy to have some kitchen time.) Then he and I drove down to Richmond early to try out a new restaurant called “Hogshead”. It was a BBQ place that he was ready to try when we left Fredericksburg. Unfortunately, by the time we drove the hour to get there, the only thing that sounded good were the sweet potato fries. So he had that and some hush puppies. He wasn’t really queasy so much as feeling “weird”, so I’ve just been letting him eat whatever sounds good. It makes for some odd combinations sometimes, but if he’s eating, I’m happy. He’s lost a little weight lately, and he’s a pretty skinny guy to begin with, so there’s not a lot of room to play with on the weight.

We drove over to the hospital and only had a short wait before they took him back for his MRIs. They do those in the basement at VCU, and there is no cell or internet signal down there. Just before we headed down, we got a text that our friend, Kim, had given birth to a 9 lb. 15 oz. baby. But they didn’t tell us if it was a boy or girl, and we were in the basement with no signal!! We would just have to wait to find out more info. He had an easy time with the MRIs. It took a couple of hours to do the brain and the spine, but he’s a trooper.

When we came back upstairs after the MRIs, we learned that Kim’s baby was a boy, and she named him David Alan Young. David was honored to be part of the reason they chose that name and said, “That makes me David Sr.” I laughed and told him I wasn’t sure it worked quite that way, but he was already making plans to conquer the world with his new sidekick.

Ok, it may be a little while before baby David is conquering the world, but it is never too early to plan!

The doctors at VCU will be talking to NIH to decide on the next course of action for David. We have an appointment at NIH on Wednesday to let them examine David in person. He still feels pretty good, with the exception of fatigue and some nausea from time to time.

If you have a few minutes to pray, please pray that we will find an effective treatment for David that will work quickly in his system to hold these tumors at bay. Pray for the path to be clear so that we will not question what action should be taken. Pray for his continued strength and that he will continue to have no serious side effects or symptoms.

We praise God for the effectiveness of his treatments so far. We know that not everyone is given the time that we have been given, and we hope that we are using it wisely and to the glory of God.

Ok, a couple of quick updates on other things. First, Austin has started her tennis season at school and is doing well. Her coach is a great mentor for her, and we are very thankful to have such a caring person in a major role in Austin’s life.   And second, we missed a Spotless Mind meeting tonight, but the kids have their first “big” event planned for next Friday night (3/16). They are holding a concert in downtown Fredericksburg and have handled 99% of the planning themselves. I haven’t been to a meeting in a while, and I’m so proud of them for pulling this all together. I can’t wait to see it! A few of David’s friend are playing in one of the bands, and there are two other acts that are playing as well. Should be a great time!

Thanks for being out there and sending your love. Whether it’s a text, a message on the blog, a card, or a “like” on Facebook, it helps to know we aren’t in this alone.

4 thoughts on “MRI Results

  1. THANKS MANDY FOR THE UPDATES!! JUST KNOW WE ARE ALL PRAYING FOR DAVID HERE IN T-TOWN. I HAVE HIS PIC. & SITE TAPED UP ON MY DECK FOR THE STUDENTS TO GO TO AND KEEP UP WITH DAVID TOO. KELLY, WANDA AND I ALL PRAY FOR YOU TOO!!!
    LOVE, DEBBIE JONES

    Like

  2. Hey,
    Im sorry to hear it has not shrunk any!!! He sure is a strong guy to be so young! Im glad he is strong or he might have got this far. I always keep him in my thoughts and prayers! Im glad he is getting to stay with you more. I know your loving that part!

    “Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”

    Isaiah 41:10

    Love, Kelly

    Like

Leave a Reply

