College Season

Uncategorized

Back in June, I barely heard from anyone about high school graduations. Everyone was so conscious of the fact that David had just died, and they didn’t want to burden me. I never looked at it that way, and it didn’t make me sad to see their beautiful pictures and cheer them on as they left high school.

But summer is over, and they are all heading off to college. And now, the grief is more real. I didn’t buy any stuff for a dorm room this summer. As I read my friends’ posts of goodbyes to their kids, I hope they can remember that this kind of a goodbye is a gift. It means you’ve done your job pretty well and you have a young person who is ready to go out and face the world.

There was so much that David wanted to do. I will never be able to fill the hole he left in this world, but I guess my way of dealing with his absence is to try. To support his friends in the way I would have supported him. To help young people achieve their dreams. To find a cure for brain cancer so that other young lives aren’t cut short.

People ask me all the time how I cope. Well, I get sad a lot, but then I start thinking about all the things David would want me to do, and I realize I don’t have time to be sad for long. There’s too much work to do!

2 thoughts on “College Season

  1. MANDY,
    IT’S OK TO BE BUSY…….BUT IT IS ALSO OK TO BE SAD TOO. WE ALL MISS DAVID AND ARE SO SAD HE HAD TO LEAVE US SO EARLY. DON’T FEEL BAD TO MORN. WE ALL MORN THOSE WE LOVED AND LOST.
    LOVE YOU, DEBBIE ❤

    Like

  2. Another beautiful and touching message. Amanda, you have such a way with words. Thank you for making us stop and think, think about the passages in life as blessings and to count those many blessings. Although we all see you as a pillar of strength and inspiration we all need to remember that you still need our prayers and support. You are truly an amazing women and I know David is soooooooo proud of his mom!

    Like

Leave a Reply

