Blogging is an interesting thing. You feel like you need to do it regularly… even when you don’t really have much to say. This blog has a “theme” so I feel like my posts need to be mostly about brain cancer and my struggle with grief over David’s untimely death. Kind of dark and depressing stuff, which I don’t really like to focus on a lot. So today, I’m going to try to update without being too dark and depressing… wish me luck.

We’re coming up fast on David’s birthday. It’s next week, and I find that this week has me far more sensitive than normal. To be expected, I guess, but I don’t like the mood swings. Still, it hasn’t seemed to effect those around me overmuch, so I guess I’m dealing ok. It does make me all the more sensitive to how much time has passed since he died, and I’m not altogether pleased with what I’ve accomplished since then.

I did have a very pleasant lunch today with Richard, Jacob (a co-worker), and Kim (Jacob’s long-time friend) to discuss some fundraising plans for May. Jacob was introducing us to Kim, and she was a delightful person to get to know. She is going to help make some introductions around town, and I’m excited to meet some other people locally who want to fight this cancer beast.

We also have a meeting scheduled next week with a local tv station to talk about advertising for work and hopefully convince them to get involved in our May campaign. It’s a station with a big heart, so I think it will go well.

We are also putting together tentative plans for a larger involvement in the brain cancer research world. That has been slow going because of how busy we’ve been at work, but with the new year comes renewed vigor toward that goal.

Speaking of the new year, I don’t normally make resolutions, but I decided to this year. I sort of started last year, but I thought I would make it more formal this year… so here it is:

1. I will do something EVERY DAY to forward the cause of brain cancer awareness and research. This may be something simple like wearing an awareness shirt or bracelet, or something bigger like attending (or running) an event or contacting my congressional representatives.

2. I will continue reaching out to David’s friends who are starting their own independent paths in this world. David was always a supportive friend, and he had talked to me briefly about his desire to make sure his friends were always supported. I started this at the beginning of the school year (most of them are in college, but a few have chosen other paths). It has been very rewarding to be able to continue to be a part of their lives, and I hope that they will benefit from the relationship as well.

That’s it. Just two. There are certainly a lot of other things I need to do to make myself a better person, but I am starting with these two things. I’d be interested in hearing what your goals are for the new year if you feel like sharing.

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

