You Can Create Your Own Good Day

Lessons Learned

Today started badly. Like, no sleep all night and bad feelings heavy on my mind kind of badly. As I was getting ready for my day, I looked in the mirror and was kind of shocked at my reflection. The weight was clearly written in my face. I could have easily taken a mug shot and looked like I was in a police lineup.

The issues on my mind were big. Grief is always mixed up in there somewhere, and today had some extra issues. Grief and the other issues are all mostly beyond my control. I can’t control circumstances or how other people will react to them. What I can control is my reaction.

So, today I chose to use the old adage “fake it ’til you make it.” And the world – for the most part – didn’t let me down. From some positive messages from friends to really awesome co-workers to family that always has my back, I made it through the day one encounter at a time. My first encounter was an opportunity to bend a rule and help someone in need. I told them that I was having a bad day and so I was going to do something to make their day brighter. It was a big step toward turning my day toward the positive. And when I went to wash my face tonight, I could see the difference on my face.

After a long day, I actually looked better at the end of the day than I did at the beginning. My eyes were brighter. My face had more color. I looked like someone I could recognize. I like that person far better than the person from this morning.

I thought I’d share this observation about morning me vs. evening me because I know a lot of you struggle with difficult days. It may not work for everyone, but I challenge you to give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

