For Auld Lang Syne

Uncategorized

I have an app on my phone called “Time Hop”. It goes back in time to year’s past and pulls out photos from your phone or Facebook to show you a little of your personal history. Today, one of the photos it showed me was of my Facebook statuses from 2010. What struck me was how happy they all were. How thankful. How EARLY in the year. You see, all of the statuses in the picture were from the first eight months of the year. David was diagnosed with cancer in month 9.

IMG_0012

In hindsight, I always wonder if I was thankful enough before cancer entered our world. If I appreciated my kids enough. If I knew how blessed we were in spite of our hardships. Then today I saw this recap of my year before cancer. There’s no doubt that I knew what my blessings were. It wasn’t all sunshine and rainbows, but I reveled in them when they appeared.

What really struck me, though, was how blissfully unaware we were. We had “normal” problems. The kind that you can pull yourself up by your bootstraps and get through. And then, David got an excruciating headache that led to three weeks in ICU and brain surgery. All the while, we believed that we would just pull together as a family and get through it.

But cancer isn’t always like that. Yes, being positive and fighting hard is important. I believe that it can make a huge difference in treatment and survival, but it is no guarantee. Cancer sneaks in unexpectedly and steals away your normal. To me, that is the most alarming thing. There was no warning.

In some ways life is just like that. You never know what’s around that next curve. The end of the year seems like a good time to look back over those curves and smile where you can, and cry when you must. More importantly, it’s time to look ahead to see what you can do to smooth the curves in the coming year, both for yourself and for those around you.

For me, looking ahead means finding innovative ways to fight cancer. I know David is looking down on us urging us forward. I know that he would see each life as precious and worthy of the fight. As we enter 2015, I hope that you will join us to make a positive change in the world of cancer research.

Leave a Reply

