A Significant First

Uncategorized

Wilson's happy cookie

You make note of many firsts. Baby’s first steps. First day of school. First job. First anniversary. They are almost always happy occasions. But today I am trying to find a way to  honor a first that is not happy. It’s heartbreaking and yet it means so much that I can not let it go by without acknowledgement.

Yesterday, I found out about a brain cancer warrior that has moved on from this world. His family and friends will have to learn to live without his sweet presence every day. It is a first for me because they have asked that memorial donations be made to Dragon Master Foundation. This is the first time that I’m aware of this happening, and I don’t know what to say. How do you thank someone for such a selfless gift? They’ve wrapped up all their love and lifted it as an offering in honor of Wilson. They believe in us enough to put it out there to the world that they want his life honored through contributions to an effort to save others.

This is such a significant thing to me. I’m humbled. I’m in tears. And I’m so very determined to put an end to cancer. For Wilson. For David. For all the warriors still in this fight. We won’t let you down.

2 thoughts on “A Significant First

  1. So compelling. So moving. Thank you. One person can make a difference. Whether it’s the Wilsons in our lives and how they impact the world, or our first attempts to share the story about them.

    Yes, we all have firsts. Thank you for sharing yours with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

