Choose Hope

Uncategorized

hope sign

This human existence is a strange thing. Full of ups and downs, it seems like we should all get an equal shot at playing the game. But we don’t. For some of us, the journey ends just as it should be beginning. Bright and shining stars extinguished before their light touches everyone. But what about those of us given the gift of time? What do we do with it?

I want to take a moment today, as sweet Jackson is laid to rest, to talk about hope. For if ever there was a family that knows what it means to hope, it is the Jackson/Beezhold family. Articulate and caring, I met them first online through some Facebook support groups. They knew Jack’s odds, which were not good, but they lived with hope every day. In big and small ways, they filled Jack’s years with life –a lifetime of happiness. It was an unbearably short lifetime, but we could all wish to be loved that much.

It makes me reflect on my blessings – among them, this family that I’ve come to know. It takes true faith to find hope after you are dealt a blow like childhood cancer. To know that life is not perfect, but there are gifts – even in the times of imperfection. Today, I grieve with Jack’s family, but I also hope for everyone still fighting. I hope that they will have great joy in as many moments as they can. I hope that those of us not personally battling disease will see what a gift that is. I hope that we will all be empowered with the knowledge that we can make a major difference in this world – through our attitude and actions. I hope that we will all have the vision to see the blessings instead of the curses.

I hope that we will all take moments for ourselves, but that we will take more moments in service of others. We have been given time to play this game of life. And I think one of the secrets to “winning” is teamwork. I’m sad that we didn’t find a cure in time to help Jackson. But I’m not giving up. I choose hope. We have a great big team of warriors depending on us. The bigger our team, the better our odds of winning. I want to give everyone the chance to play the game for as long as possible. I want us all to die as old people who have been given every chance to grow old gracefully. Some will do amazing things. Some won’t. But wouldn’t it be cool if we were all given the same odds?

Leave a Reply

