#MomentsofMagic

Dragon Master Foundation, Uncategorized

Cancer can be one of life’s most difficult challenges. It has brought more pain to my life than I care to remember, but it has also given me great awareness of the little moments in life. I think it teaches a lot of people about gratitude, frequently in ways we wouldn’t imagine. I know trying to imagine what it is like to live with a cancer diagnosis can be overwhelming, especially if you think about it being your child or other loved one. It’s sad and scary, and well, I don’t want to think about it either. But I do want to bring attention to the need for research. I want you to think about ways we can cure cancer. I want you to think about it all the time – like those of us who have been faced with it in our daily lives.

But how can we think about it, and act on it, without being overwhelmed by it? After talking with a lot of folks, I think I found a way to shed some positive light on the issue. We’re going to start a sort of gratitude journal, where we can focus on those little moments that are good, that are special because they are so normal. We want you to see how grateful cancer patients and their families are for those little things.

So here’s what I need from you. I need you to start sharing those moments with me, so that Dragon Master Foundation can share them with the world. We’re going to call them #MomentsofMagic . They can be anything you want – as long as it was a moment that was special to you as a cancer warrior, caregiver, loved one or friend. We’d love to share pictures with the stories as well, so send whatever you would like to share to amanda.haddock (at)dragonmasterfoundation.org.

Together, we can focus on the positive. As Dumbledore would say, “Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.”

IMG_3115

2 thoughts on “#MomentsofMagic

  1. This message is for Amanda from the Graymatter blog. You said to send pics about GBM patient. My son John Bostock and his wife Jessica were hiking on vacation in Portland OR and this picture of sharing the burden is so beautiful. John is wearing the Optune helmet and the backpack carries the batteries which can get heavy. His wife Jess takes that backpack to ease his load. That is love!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    1. Hi Marylou, Thanks for replying! That sounds like a really cool moment, unfortunately, the picture did not come through. Can you email it to us? We’d like to share it on Facebook because we have a lot more people who would see it that way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

