Bliss

Uncategorized

I’ve always liked that word. Bliss. Just saying makes me breathe a little deeper. I’ve liked the word, but I don’t think I truly understood the phrase “ignorance is bliss” until David got sick. I had no idea how lucky I was that I hadn’t had to watch a loved one battle cancer. I had no idea that the word “Momcologist” existed. I had no idea that having my child die from cancer would just be the first in a long line of unspeakable tragedies that I would have a front row seat to watch.

Ignorance can be bliss, but it can also be what holds us back. As humans, we are held back because most of us don’t  take the time to learn about disease and the obstacles facing medical researchers. I get it. Really. I was not a big fan of science or math in school, and reading anything other than Harry Potter at bedtime was not on my radar. But while I sat there doing my horrible Hagrid impersonation, a disease was lurking that would steal my son’s life. If someone had told me, I think I would have felt helpless. Cancer is a disease that has plagued the world forever. How could I possibly do anything to stop it?

But something happens to you when your child is threatened. Your bliss is shattered, so you start asking questions. You scream out to the world that it isn’t fair, and you get the echoes of countless other parents as your answer. The power to stop cancer lies within us. Ok, not me, most likely, but within someone. Maybe it will be someone in the oncology/cancer research field. Or maybe it will be some computational biologist or mathematician or astrophysicist. But it won’t happen if we sit by, blissfully ignorant that they need our help. THEY NEED OUR HELP. I don’t care what it is that you do, you can make a difference in the war on cancer. 

There is an open access platform called Cavatica that will bring top quality cancer data to the people who want to find cures. It is free for them to see because hospitals and foundations are paying to make it that way. But we are spending our money on building infrastructure – not big marketing campaigns. That’s where you come in. 

You are a single flame, but you could be the spark that starts the explostion (all props to Rachel Platten). Please tell people about Cavatica. Tell them that there is a new way to make discoveries for cancer research. Tell them that every type of cancer is important and that everyone deserves a chance to defeat cancer. The beta version is open to cancer researchers right now at Cavatica.org. Let’s make your moment of bliss the moment you hear that they have found a cure.

(Side note: couldn’t find a pic that illustrated my point with people, so this is a shot of my cat looking blissful.)

Leave a Reply

